Jesus Begins His Ministry Luke 3:21-38

When all the people were being baptized, Jesus was baptized too. And as he was praying, heaven was opened and the Holy Spirit descended on him in bodily form like a dove. And a voice came from heaven: “You are my Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased.”

 Now Jesus himself was about thirty years old when he began his ministry. He was the son, so it was thought, of Joseph, . . . (Luke 3:21-23).

I look at his section of Luke as a way for the good doctor/historian to show the qualifications of Jesus as Messiah. It also shows who He came to save. Whereas Matthew’s genealogy is for a Jewish audience and traces Jesus’ lineage to Abraham, Luke’s genealogy is for a Gentile audience and traces Christ’s line back to Adam. But that is the human evidence.

Much more convincing to me is what happens at Jesus’ baptism. Luke doesn’t go into much detail about this event as does Matthew. But the key element is there, the holy Spirit descends like a dove and God the Father speaks, “You are my Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased.”

There is no better way for a commissioning to happen than to have the word of God affirm who you are. By extension, if we are faithful followers of this Jesus the Messiah, one day we too will hear the words of our Lord, “well done good and faithful servant”  . . .

How are you going to serve Him today? How am I?

Until next time,

TO THE GLORY OF GOD!

 

 

Leave a comment